Insert Web Images In Live Writer When Using Windows 7

Many users are using Windows 7 now, it is a fantastic OS, there’s just always been one problem with using Live Writer on Win7 though, and that’s the inability to put in web images into your blog post using the Insert Picture dialog. In XP (and Vista), the Insert Picture looked like this:

This allowed you to easily insert a web image. But this is no longer the case in Win7. Brandon Turner, one of the devs on Live Writer posted a workaround for this a while back, which is all well and good for those using Internet Explorer, but guess what, not everyone does. So then what? Well, I have the solution.

I’m not sure why I never thought of this sooner, kinda seems like one of those “duh” moments, but I’ve written a quick plugin which looks and feels almost exactly like the familiar “From Web” tab as seen above. Here’s my version:

As a famous merekat would say: “Simples.”

You can download the plugin from my SkyDrive: http://cid-fabdddc5cad93494.skydrive.live.com/self.aspx/Writer%20Plugins/InsertWebImageForWin7.zip. Just unzip the dll to your plugin folder (x86: c:\program files\windows live\writer\plugins\. x64: c:\program files (x86)\windows live\writer\plugins\).

If you have any comments, please feel free to send them to me at wlm@scottisafool.co.uk or on twitter @scottisafool. Leaving comments might not get a reply due to too much comment spam.

SL

  1. #1 by technogran on August 14, 2009 - 2:05 pm

    Wow! Thanks for this Scott, and so quickly as well! You are clever. I didn\’t even notice about this in Windows 7 because if I want to grab a pic from the Internet to place inside one of my posts, I would just either use the \’snipping tool\’ to capture it or Snag It\’ so it hadn\’t affected my pics. However, I will try it out

Leave a Reply

